Despaigne is Cuba’s MVP for Second Straight Season

Boasting his second consecutive home run title and barely missing a rare and most coveted “triple-crown” season, Granma outfielder Alfredo Despaigne has walked off with repeat Cuban League MVP honors and thus joined Wilfredo Sánchez and Yulieski Gourriel as the only back-to-back outstanding player honorees in league history.  The Granma slugger (also the outstanding player of last fall’s European World Cup) easily outdistancing both Gourriel and José Dariel Abreu by comfortable margins in the official Cuban press ballot announced earlier today. Despaigne this winter enjoyed one of the most complete offensive performances in National Series annals, missing his previous year’s record home run mark by only a single four bagger, hitting over .400 to overhaul both Gourriel and Abreu down the stretch run of the individual batting race, and trailing only Gourriel in the RBI department. Other noteworthy features of this year’s post-season awards include a tie for manager of the year honors, three unanimous all-star selections, and a number of surprising new faces among Cuba’s most celebrated players.


DespaigneFantastico.jpgBelow is the complete list of this year’s Cuban League post-season awards. For a more complete report, including voting details, the reader is directed to my related story appearing on


Cuban League 2010 National Series All-Star Team


Catcher: Yosvani Alarcón (Las Tunas)

First Base: José Dariel Abreu (Cienfuegos), Unanimous Selection

Second Base: Danel Castro (Las Tunas)

Third Base: Yulieski Gourriel (Sancti Spíritus), Unanimous Section

Shortstop: Alexander Guerrero (Las Tunas)

Outfield: Alfredo Despaigne (Granma), Unanimous Selection

Outfield: Alexei Bell (Santiago de Cuba), 18 votes

Outfield: Federich Cepeda (Sancti Spíritus)

DH: Rolando Meriño (Santiago de Cuba) 

Utility: Raúl González (Ciego de Avila)

Right-Handed Pitcher: Vladimir García (Ciego de Avila)

Left-Handed Pitcher: Yulieski González (Habana Province)

Relief Pitcher: Dunier Ibarra (Cienfuegos)


All-Defensive Team (2010 Golden Glove Selections)


Catcher: Eriel Sánchez (Sancti Spíritus)

First Base: Yunier Mendoza (Sancti Spíritus)

Second Base: Mario Vega (Ciego de Avila)

Third Base: Yulieski Gourriel (Sancti Spíritus), Unanimous Section

Shortstop: Michel González (Habana Province)

Outfield: Jorge Johnson (Las Tunas)

Outfield: Denis Laza (Habana Province)

Outfield: Juan Miguel Soriano (Cienfuegos)

Pitcher: Yoelkiz Cruz (Las Tunas)


Additional Post-Season Awards


Most Valuable Player

First Place: Alfredo Despaigne (Granma)

Second Place: Yulieski Gourriel (Sancti Spíritus)

Third Place: José Dariel Abreu (Cienfuegos)


Rookie of the Year

First Place: Yusel Amador (Metros)

Second Place: Yasmani Hernández (Villa Clara)

Third Place: Dunier Ruíz (Metros)


Post-Season Most Valuable Player

Alexander Malleta (Industriales)


Post-Season Rookie of the Year

Yasmani Hernández (Villa Clara), 20 votes 


Manager of the Year (Tie)

Eduado Martin (Villa Clara)

Germán Mesa (Industriales)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s